Contact Us
                             History of NABET-CWA

(Association of Technical Employees) began representing employees in Television, Radio, Film and
Production. Originally the employees represented worked for the "Red" and "Blue" networks, which
later became ABC and NBC, respectively.

Before NABET-CWA, broadcast employees worked split shifts; there was no pay or time off for
holidays; there was no overtime pay. The typical wage was $20.00 per week - $40.00 was BIG

In 1933, some 300 employees at NBC formed the Association of Technical Employees (ATE).

1934 First contract signed with the National Broadcasting Company. This contract had a wage scale
of $175.00 per month - $260.00 (after 9 years' service). The work week was 48 hours.

1937 First contract spelling out our jurisdiction. First independent station joins unit.

1939 First union shop clause.

1940 ATE changed to National Association of Broadcast Engineers and Technicians (NABET).

1941 First 8-hour day. Twenty-three (23) small stations under contract.

1943 Former NBC Blue Network was split off by court decree and became the American
Broadcasting Company. NABET added a network to its contracts.

1951 Affiliation with Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO). Name changed to National
Association of Broadcast Employees and Technicians.

1952 Technical employees at Canadian Broadcasting Company join NABET.

1953 Canadian members affiliate with Canadian Labor Congress.

1960 The best contracts in the industry, with three major networks and more than 100 independent
stations and employers.

1961 Canadian Television Network (CTV), which led to NABET organizing several large private
1965 First Film local chartered.

1968 Convention gave Canadians autonomy to govern themselves by electing a Vice-President for
Canadian Affairs. Dues rebates made available to all Locals, large and small.

1970 NABET organizes newly formed ETV facilities in Quebec and Ontario.

1974 NABET Canada granted international status and becomes fully autonomous. Conventions to be
held every four (4) years.

1986 Every local, regardless of size, was entitled to at least one convention delegate.

1986 Became mandatory that each region be allowed to hold at least one Regional Advisory Board
meeting per year at International expense.

1990 Canada acquires additional autonomy, including its seal.

1993 Affiliation with the Communications Workers of America (CWA).

1994 Merger with Communication Workers of America (CWA).

New name - NABET-CWA.

(1) Union Shop
(2) 7-hour day - 35-hour
(3) Paid vacation and
statutory holidays
(4) Lay-off and rehiring
on seniority basis
(5) Differential pay for
night work
(6) Discharge for just
and sufficient cause only
(7) 12-hour turn-around
(8) Late meal period
(9) Grievance
procedure, including
(10) Contract provisions
for automation
(11) Pension Plans
(12) Overtime clauses
(13) Highest wages and
best working conditions
in the industry
This page is designed by Hemmingsjones Web Hosting     www.hemmingsjones.com
Hemmingsjones Web Hosting is an own and operated by DVD
Home Studios Copyright © 2011 All rights reserved worldwide